Forum | Blog | Contact |      
FOEM Blog Friday, 14 December, 2018

Archive for January, 2010

Magnoli and rockmachine (FOEM) live @ Düsseldorf

Wednesday, January 27th, 2010

[lz096] marcus e. henry – 10

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

Our second release this year and the 10th mix done by Marcus E. Henry.
Eleven tech-house / minimal tracks with a great flow providing a very smooth mix.
Special thanks to Mr. Henry for this long lasting collaboration and ten lovely mix sets.
Be sure to check them out all!

01. LANDSCHALL – fresh up [broque057]
02. MINIMORPH – follow the sun [unfoundsound043]
03. ROBERTO CLEMENTI – about to go [unfoundsound044]
04. MINIMORPH – cubanito [unfoundsound043]
05. A7 – simply deep [tonkulturberlin020]
06. KRZHO – love prisoner [tonkulturberlin022]
07. BACTEE – daleko od domu [handytec016]
08. HERMETICO – espejos (dan droff moesmengel remix) [shhht001]
09. NASH DONSON – clouds [coffeebreakstreet010]
10. CONDE CERO – omega project [antiritmo040]
11. MARKUS MASUHR – zumata del mata [equaliteq030]
mixed by marcus e. henry
66:21 min / 192 kbps / 96 mb

[Soft Phase sfp11] bad loop – Fragments

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

Artist: bad loop
Title: Fragments (EP)
Style: idm downtempo
Format: MP3 & FLAC
Date: 2010-01-16

Bad Loop is finnish artist Petteri Karjalainen, who’s been making music since the early 90′s. During all these years, he have established his very own, recognizable style where melodies collide with lush pads in subtle ways, driven by the layered rhythms, all these blended together form the Bad Loop sound. And close to five years have passed since the last release “Luo”, which appeared on the One netlabel.

At the time being, the focus was on the idm flavored melodic downtempo material, while the new EP titled “Fragments” takes a new, more edgy and slightly darker direction. Being a more beat oriented and occasionally even hectic in tempo, compiled from tracks originally designed for live performances. Developed and mangled further into a piece that captures the essential vibe of a Bad Loop gig.

Release information and download:

[PS015] VA – Number Stations

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

PS015 Cover

Release Summary
| PS015 Various Artists – Number Stations |

| Curated by Jon Sykes for PublicSpaces Lab |

| Total Running Time 01:12:53 | 16 Tracks |

| Available in mp3 320 or FLAC (zip format) |
| Cover Art by Rita Monteiro @ PublicSpaces Lab |
| Download here |

Release Details

This is a compilation album based around the theme of Numbers Stations samples.

Number Stations if you are unfamiliar are shortwave radio stations that broadcast strange and cryptic content, often ordered or seemingly random series of numbers repeated over and over again. Other stations played weird music, and other still just repeated tones over an over. They were all the rage back in the Coldwar era and are often thought to have been spying agencies means of communication.

Probably the most famous Number Station sample is from the Wilco album Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, partly due to the album being named after it but maybe more so because it lead to complex legal wrangles over who “owned” the recording, eventually settled out of court.

The most authoritative collection of Numbers Stations recordings is the Conet Project by Irdial Records, who make available the entire collection under their Free Music Philosophy. There are also plenty of other places online to find other samples that can be used in recordings as samples.

The challenge was issued to an international assortment of artists, with genres ranging from Ambient, to Dub Step to Interpretive. This compilation of tracks is the result. We hope you enjoy.

Curated by Jon Sykes for PublicSpaces Lab
Release Art by Rita Monteiro @ PublicSpaces Lab
Cover Photo by Slightly North via Flickr under a CC License by-nc-sa
Mastering and encoding by Jordi @ PublicSpaces Lab

WA013 – COLUMN SUM (un)selected (un)ambient (un)works

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

COLUMN SUM - (un)selected (un)ambient (un)works


Die erste One-Man-Compilation von COLUMN SUM kommt mit 15 freshen Tracks,
die eigentlich nur von einer Person stammen. Es sind Stücke, die sich im Laufe der Zeit
so auf der Festplatte angesammelt haben. Stücke, die während des “regulären” Musik-
machens entstanden sind und eigentlich gar nicht in das Konzept der “eigentlichen”
Musik passten. Die Tracks haben verschiedene Pseudonyme verpasst bekommen, damit
das Release einen schönen Compilation-Charakter hat. Und jetzt muss nur noch erraten
werden, wer der “Vater” der ganzen Pseudos ist… In diesem Sinne “PLAY IT LOUDER”…


[Intox Noize] [intox069] The Guru – Relax

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

The Guru – Relax

Label: Intox Noize
Catalog#: intox069
Format: 6 x File, MP3, Album, 256 kbps
Country: Serbia
Released: 16 Jan 2010
Genre: Electronic
Style: Trance, Minimal


1 Be Your Self (6:40)
2 Find Your Mind (5:36)
3 Just Fly (6:08)
4 Only Paranormal (7:28)
5 Relax (5:22)
6 Sounds To The Feet (5:14)


Download! | Visit Intox Noize

[Intox Noize] [noize017] Split wars 005 – Krankenzimmer 204 vs. To-Bo

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

Split wars 005 – Krankenzimmer 204 vs. To-Bo

Label: In Noize
Catalog#: noize017
Format: 4 x File, MP3, 320 kbps
Country: Germany / Switzerland
Released: 15 Jan 2010
Genre: Electronic
Style: Industrial, Noise


1 Krankenzimmer 204 – Dumpf (7:53)
2 Krankenzimmer 204 – Stay Stitch (4:09)
3 To-Bo – Let It Snow (2:16)
4 To-Bo – Reaktor T (5:04)


Download! | Visit Intox Noize

[Intox Noize] [noize016] Split wars 004 – Tombstone airline vs. To-Bo

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

Split wars 004 – Tombstone airline vs. To-Bo

Label: In Noize
Catalog#: noize016
Format: 4 x File, MP3, kbps
Country: Germany / USA
Released: 14 Jan 2010
Genre: Electronic
Style: Noise, Industrial


1 Tombstone Airline – House Of Windpipes (2:36)
2 Tombstone Airline – The Red Strings (3:08)
3 To-Bo – Lilly (2:03)
4 To-Bo – Akute Schmerzen (2:38)


Download! | Visit Intox Noize

[Intox Noize] [noize015] Split wars 003 – Synthax error vs. To-Bo

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

Split wars 003 – Synthax error vs. To-Bo

Label: In Noize
Catalog#: noize015
Format: 4 x File, MP3, 192 kbps
Country: Russia
Released: 12 Jan 2010
Genre: Electronic
Style: IDM, Noise


1 To-Bo – Afghanistan (2:13)
2 Synthax Error – Cujus Animam Gementem (Full Force Remix) (5:47)
3 Synthax Error – Screaming For Love (Synthax Error Remix) (6:13)
4 To-Bo – Black Channel (2:13)


Download! | Visit Intox Noize

[RRR163] Anna Bradley – single

Saturday, January 23rd, 2010

Anna Bradley - single

There is something so refreshing about the self titled “Anna Bradley” single, which is funny as when listening to it, it resonates bands of yesteryear.

The story behind the single, and expansion on his previous release, is the inclusion of a rhythm section right before Kipling left for Berkeley, and this addition certainly makes Kipling’s previous lo-fi sound really explode into a new and exciting phase.

The opening section of the self titled track definitely sounds like it could have been penned (and sung) by The Field Mice, before drifting into a swirling indierock love(less) anthem. The B-side, “Clotheshorse” is an honest, catchy little number with the only complaint being that at 2:11 it is criminally short for such a fantastic track.

I think that is just another exciting element to Anna Bradley though, the fact that Kipling can produce a great song, finish it, and then move onto another. As he enters a new period in his life, I am sure many will be excited to hear what comes next.

Download full release
Rack & Ruin records